A New Week…

Jimmy and I were chatting about weight loss and how people go about trying to lose weight. We were sampling an audiobook by Gary Taubes entitled, “Why We Get Fat: and What To Do About It.” It’s a great book, and I think I will buy it. I’m just trying to decide whether I should get the audio book or the printed one.

One thing we realized is that many people prefer to lose weight by eating less and exercising. This is the old and mistaken paradigm that has led society into a spiral of obesity of epidemic proportions. As early as the 1930’s during the Great Depression, when people did not have much to eat, the German pediatrician, Hilde Bruch observed the alarming increase in obesity in American children, when she arrived in New York. This story is mentioned in the book.

Not a few people who asked about our program walked away saddened because they felt the price was not cheap. They decided to exercise instead. However, when one really considers the amount of time needed to lose weight with exercise, then one comes out relatively poorer. Let me explain. When we spend money to enroll in a weight management program that has been proven to achieve excellent results, it might seem that we are spending a lot. However, we can earn money, but we could never earn back the time we spend to travel to the gym, change our clothes, sweat it out for at least an hour, maybe hire a personal trainer, change into our street clothes and travel back to work or to our homes. We’ve done this before, and I don’t think I have the motivation to do it all over again, when I can lose my unwanted fats in the comfort of my home. I don’t like hourlong exercises. I like to walk and do a few toning exercises, but exercising to lose weight is not my cup of tea.

But then again, to each his own. We have a friend who exercises two hours a day, come rain or shine. If it works for him, I have no problem with that. For more information on why people get fat, I suggest reviewing the book of Gary Taubes on Amazon. It’s going to change the way you feel about weight management.

20120709-101654.jpg

One thought on “A New Week…

Leave a Reply

