Rainbows…

I have always loved rainbows. They signify hope for mankind. The rainbow is a sign of God’s covenant with Noah that never again will there be a great flood on earth. The song, “Somewhere Over the Rainbow,” always makes me teary-eyed. It brings back memories of growing up with the entire family together through thick and thin. These days, we are scattered over the world, with me and my family being able to go home twice a year, as we are the closest to home.

At one time, while I was grappling with the major decision of marrying Jimmy and leaving my family and my medical practice behind, I asked God for a sign. I have always consulted God when making major decisions.

I wanted to obtain God’s blessings if I should migrate to a foreign land. After a week long retreat, I went to mass. As I was walking back to the car, I looked back at the church and saw …a rainbow! It was a bright sunny morning, and it wasn’t even showering. I took the rainbow as a sign from God saying, “Yes!” That is what gave me the courage to commit. Years later, when friends would wonder how I got the courage to leave everything and move to a country where I did not speak the language, I tell them the story of the rainbow.

Through the years, when life would become a puzzle, I never forgot to consult God. I have so many questions, and God is the only One who does not get tired of listening to me.

God is our loving Father who wants what’s best for us. He has a sense of humor, too. Thus, when God  wants to say, “Absolutely yes!!!” This is what He sends:

My question at that time was, “God should I choose this career? I was not trained for this.” And this is God’s reply. The double rainbow stayed for a long time and we were able to take several shots with our cell phones.

So, here I am…enjoying every bit of this career, despite the ups and downs we have encountered. I wrote this post to remind myself that God is in control, and that I must trust in His Divine Providence, and so can you.

Good day to all!

2 thoughts on “Rainbows…

Leave a Reply

