Bear Much Fruit

Today’s Gospel is John 15:1-8. Verses 7-8 speak to me clearly. It says: “If you remain in Me, and My words remain in you, ask for whatever you want and it will be done for you. By this My Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and become my disciples.”

For most people, being rich is a hindrance to heaven. That is why most of us, myself included, have misconceptions about the rich. However, I have recently come to realize that God does not want all of His people to be poor. He has two sets of followers: the first set are those who renounce all earthly possessions and concentrate on service and worship, denying themselves of worldly things. St. Francis of Assisi and St. Bernard of Clairveaux are great examples. However, God also has people of great wealth like Abraham and King David and Joseph, son of Jacob. God wants the rest of the world to know that His people can have great wealth, but are not slaves to their wealth. Despite their wealth, their eyes are still fixed heavenward.

The wealthy group of disciples bring glory to God by having riches and use those riches to gather more people to the Kingdon of Heaven. The riches are not for their enjoyment, but are used to finance and support the salvation of souls, so that all the people in the world will attain eternal life, if only everyone will wake up to the Truth.

So let me ask you something, do you belong to the first group or the second group of God’s people? Are you destined to be another St. Francis or St. Bernard? On the other hand, if you feel that you are more inclined to follow the footsteps of Abraham and company, then you are like me.

Think about it and you might want to send your comments.

Furthermore, I wish to thank the readers who sent their comments. I tried replying with “thanks,” and appreciation for taking the time to write, but I’m not sure if my replies got through. I’m just learning this blogging stuff and it’s been fun. Thanks to WordPress and to all the readers out there who are reading this blog. I’m still trying to find my niche. So please bear with me as I search for the best topic to write on.

Have a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

